‘Women’s Journey’ the Theme for Eastern Global Short Film Awards

The popular Eastern Global Short Film Awards will have ‘Women’s Journey’ as the focus theme for special award in its 2017 edition.
The competition opens on October 5, and entries can be submitted until November 20, 2017. Announcing the second edition of the short film competition, the organisers said the event features a wider award category this year, besides a reputed jury comprising some of the best-known names in their professional areas of work.
The Eastern Global Short Film Awards is promoted by the Global Initiative for Excellence in association with Eastern Group, with the objective of promoting and acknowledging exemplary work in the short film sector.
“In continuation of the Eastern Bhoomika initiative, our aim is to bring together different perspectives and narratives on Women’s Journey to the limelight, and contestants are required to visually narrate their vision”, said Eastern Group MD, Firoz Meeran.
This year, the award categories are: Best film, Focus Award (Bhoomika Award for the best film on the women theme), Best Popular Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actor/Actress, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Background Music, and Best Location Sync sound/Sound Mixing.
Internationally-reputed film maker, Dr Biju will head the jury. Popular film star Rima Kallingal, film maker and director Sreebala K Menon, and well-known journalist & film critic Saraswathy Nagarajan will be part of the core team as jurors for the focus theme of this year.
Other members of the jury comprise cinematographer MJ Radhakrishnan, film director and writer Pramod Payyannoor, short film maker Ajan RS, actor-producer Prakash Bare, music director Santosh Chandran,
sync sound recordist and sound designer Smijith Kumar PB, and environmental documentary maker C Rahim.
A key attraction this year is a production funding by the Eastern Group for the winning script on the ‘Women’s Journey’ theme. Well-known film personality, Rima Kallingal will head the sub jury that will select the winning script. The Eastern group will offer production funding for the winning script.
The Eastern Global Short Film Awards is supported by the Chalachitra Academy, KSFDC, Shenoy’s Group of Theatres, Shortflix, Bharat Bhavan, Public Relations Council of India, I AM (Indian Ad Film Makers), Ergo Events, Bytes Interactive, Folk Tales, and Nava Kerala Mission. Visual media personality, Siraj Shah is the creative director of the event.
Eastern Group managing director Firoz Meeran, Global Initiative for Excellence managing partner Joe A Scaria & Eastern Global Short Film Awards Chief Coordinator T Vinay Kumar addressed the media.




more recommended stories