132 views 4 mins 0 comments

64th National Film Awards: Akshay Kumar Wins Best Actor for Rustom, Best Hindi Film is Neerja

In Cinema, Entertainment, Nation, News
April 07, 2017

Neerja won the Best Hindi Feature Film as the winners of 64th National Film Awards were announced today at the National Media Centre in New Delhi on Friday, April 7. Akshay Kumar was adjudged the best actor for Rustom while Sonam Kapoor, Neerja’s lead actor, also got a special mention by the jury along with Adil Hussain for Mukti Bhawan, and Kadvi Hawa. Best Kannada film was won by Reservation while Best Marathi Film award went to Dashakriya. Best Gujarati Film goes to Wrong Side Raju and Best Tamil Film Goes went to Joker by Raju Murugan.
Here is the complete list of 64th National Film Award winnersakshay
Best Actor of the year conferred on Akshay Kumar for film Rustom
Best actress is Surabhi CM for Minnaminunge
Best Film is Kasav
Best director is Rajesh Mapuskar for Ventilator
Best film on social issues is Pink
Best supporting actor is Manoj Joshi for Dashkriya
Best supporting actress is Zaira Wasim for Dangal
Best Environmental film including agriculture conferred to ‘The Tiger who crossed the line’
Best Hindi Feature Film is Neerja, directed by Ram Madhvani
Best Marathi film conferred to Dashakriya
Best Kannada Film conferred to Reservation
Best Bengali Film conferred to Bisarjan
Award for Best children film goes to Dhanak,
Special Mention Award The Eyes of Darkness
Best VFX award goes to Ajay Devgn’s Shivaay
Indira Gandhi Award for debut director is Khalifa (Bengali)
Best action director and stunt choreographer is Peter Haines for Pulimurugan
Best editing and sound mixing award has been won by Priyanka Chopra’s Ventilator
Best female playback singer is Tumi Jake Bhalobaso by Iman Chakraborty
Best animation award goes to Mahayoddha Rama
Best production design has been won by Tamil film 24
Best book on cinema was won by Lata Surgatha — a book that narrates the story of legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar. Out of 33 books submitted in writing in cinema, jury selects G Dhananjayan as the Best Movie Critic. Uttar Pradesh was announced as the Most film friendly state by the jury. Special mention to the state of Jharkhand on jury’s recommendation.
The 64th National Awards jury is headed by Priyadarshan. The director whose film Kanchivaram had won the National Award in 2007 had said earlier, “It’s definitely an honour and a huge responsibility. I have close to 36 years of experience and have done 91 films, so I am hoping to put that to good use.” In 1996, his Kaalapani had fetched Kerala three National Awards.The director had previously chaired the jury for the 2011 International Film Festival of Kerala. Over 300 films vied for the top spot this year. The process to choose the best from Indian cinema began on March 16 and culminated with the announcement today. Earlier, Minister for Information and Broadcasting M. Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday said that National Film Awards provided a platform to showcase the composite and rich culture of India through the medium of cinema.