63 views 2 mins 0 comments

Chief Minister Gives Away GV Raja Awards 2017 to Sportspersons

In Sports
February 28, 2019

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan gave away GV Raja Awards 2017, the highest sports award instituted by the Kerala Sports Council, along with Olympian Suresh Babu Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award at a function held at Jimmy George Indoor Stadium here on Wednesday.

Vijayan presented Olympian Suresh Babu Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award to noted badminton coach S. Muraleedharan.
Jinson Johnson (athletics) and Neena. V (athletics) received GV Raja Awards for 2017. Volleyball player Jinsy Johnson (college-level) and athlete Abigeyil Arogyanathan (school-level) received the awards for the best sportspersons in the academies under the State Sports Council from the Chief Minister.

Sports Council volleyball coach S. Manoj was presented the best coach’s award. Dr Mathews Jacob, Mar Athanasius College, Kothamangalam, was conferred with the best college sports teacher award. Assumption College, Changanassery, was given the award for the best college for remarkable sports achievements. This award consists of Rs 50,000 and citation.

At the event, awards were also distributed to the winners of the 2016-17 national and international competitions, including Asian Games, Kerala volleyball team that won the 66th national volleyball championship, and participants of the Special Olympics 2015 held in Los Angeles, US.

Presiding over the event, Minister for Industries, Sports and Youth Affairs E P Jayarajan said: “The government has earmarked Rs 700 crore for developing basic infrastructure in sports sector in the state. As part of this, stadiums are being set up in all districts. About 54 multipurpose stadiums are under construction .”

“The government has given jobs to 167 sportspersons, who have won national and international medals. This year, among the 248 sportspersons, 200 will be appointed to government service soon,” he added.

Mercy Kuttan, Vice President, Kerala Sports Council, welcomed the gathering. Sanjayan Kumar, Director, Sports and Youth Affairs proposed a vote of thanks.

On the occasion, the Minister handed over Rs 5 lakh to Amrutha Reghunath to buy track cycle. Arjuna-Khel Ratna Awardee K.M. Beenamol; Dr G. Kishore, Principal, LNCPE; and V. Sunilkumar, President, Kerala Olympic Association were also present.