73 views 3 mins 0 comments

ENEOS Honda Erula Racing Team Grabs Double Podium

In Sports
December 14, 2020

Continuing to gain on the points tally, ENEOS Honda Erula Racing Team’s Mathana Kumar and Rajiv Sethu clinched two out of three podiums in the Pro-Stock 165cc race. Getting the much needed boost after gaining top laurels in yesterday’s race, the ace trio of Rajiv Sethu, Mathana Kumar and Senthil Kumar were charged to finish in the top 3.

Fighting for the top spot from the get-go, Saturday’s first race saw Rajiv Sethu and Mathana Kumar ride their best to garner the top spots. Giving tough competition to the competitor, the race saw changing statistics with every turn. With just 0.077 seconds behind, Trichy’s Mathana closed in at the second place. Trying his best to overtake the competition, Rajiv Sethu maintained a cautious approach and finished at the third place today. Meanwhile, Senthil Kumar crossed the finish line at fifth position.

Speaking on today’s race, Prabhu Nagaraj, Senior Vice President, Brand & Communication, Honda Motorcycle & Scooter India Pvt. Ltd. Said, “Our riders have started the season in great form. Rajiv Sethu and Mathana Kumar’s performance in today’s race, scoring the second and third positions proves their mettle being seasoned riders. It was not only our veteran riders but also our young guns who performed exceedingly well. Shyam Sunder led the pack in the CBR150R class while Sarthak Chavan led in the NSF250R category. Taking these results from a constructive day, we are confident that tomorrow’s races will also give us good results and justify the potential of all racers.” IDEMITSU Honda India Talent Cup – NSF 250R & CBR150R categories Setting the track on fire were the 14 millennial riders in IDEMITSU Honda India Talent Cup- CBR150R and NSF250R categories.

The inaugural race of NSF250R saw Pune’s Sarthak Chavan drifting away the pole starter Kavin Quintal at turn 2 of lap 2. Holding onto his position right from the beginning, 14-year-old Sarthak lapped back home with a comfortable lead of 0.352 secons. Making a good catch in the last lap, Kavin Quintal finished the race second registering the best lap of 1:49.206 in today’s race. Joining Sarthak & Kavin on podium in today’s race is Varoon S on third spot.

The CBR150R was another exciting race of the day. With all 14 riders equally separated at the end of Lap 1, yesterday’s pole setter Prakash Kamat moved back to fifth. Making quick recovery in lap 2, Prakash Kamat got into a close fight with Vivek Gaurav & Rakshith S Dave. Fighting for the top slot in a neck-to neck battle with Rakshith & Prakash, Vivek Gaurav crashed in lap 3. Constantly moving the charts, it was Shyam Sunder who grabbed the podium finish as Prakash Kamat dwindled slightly off track. With 0.510 seconds behind Shyam, Prakash finished second followed by Belgaum’s Vivek Kapadia on third.