63 views 4 mins 0 comments

Finals of the Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias Table Tennis Championship 2016

In Sports
July 04, 2017

The grand finals of the Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias Table Tennis Championship 2017 saw a huge crowd of fans witness Shantesh Mapsekar and Taniya Patil sweep the finals as they won in three categories at the Polygon Hall at Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias in Miramar.
The awards were handed over to the winners by  Yogesh V. Nadkarni, President, Clube Tennis dPhoto 1e Gaspar Dias;  Rajesh Khaunte, Secretary, Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias;  Vero Nunes, President of Goa Table Tennis Association (GTTA); Aakash Khaunte, Sport committee Chairman, Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias; Vishnu Kolvalcar, Secretary, Goa Table Tennis Association and Deepak Gopani, Veteran Player in the presence of fans and members of the table tennis association.
The finals of the Men’s category could not have been more intense. Dhreeraj Rai won the Men’s title in a thrilling match against Wesley Do Rosario. With his friends cheering him on Dhreeraj overpowered Wesley (11-8, 7-11, 10-12, 6-11, 8-11, 11-9, 15-13) and won. Playing sublime table tennis, Prutha Parrikar lifted the Ladies trophy as she took on Taniya Patil. Both women have given their best and it was no surprise to see them battle it out in the finals. With great perseverance Prutha powered through and defeated Taniya (11-1,11-4,8-11,10-12,12-10) to take home the Ladies title.
Meanwhile Wesley Do Rosario and Ruturaj Sonaware stormed into the finals with great confidence. Wesley scored 11-7,17-15,11-7 against Ruturaj winning the U-18 Junior Boys title. In the finals of the U-18 Junior Girls category Taniya Patil took title by easily downing Prutha Parrikar (8-11, 11-7, 12-10, 11-7).
In the U-10 Mini Cadets Girls category, twin sisters Galya and Leoma Fernandes battled it out for the ultimate title amidst the cheer of family and friends. Leoma edged over Galya with a score of 11-7, 11-8, 11-8. Whereas in the U-10 Mini Cadet Boys category Akshan Lawande took on Aaron Farias. With family cheering Akshan on, he defeated Aaron (14-16, 11-7, 11-8, 11-7).
Shantesh Mapsekar went face-to-face with Nagesh Verenkar for the U-16 Sub Junior Boys title. Displaying superb table tennis techniques, Shantesh triumphed over Nagesh scoring 12-14,12-10,11-6,11-6; While Taniya Patil took the U-16 Sub Junior Girls title by defeating Sanisha Shetye (9-11, 11-8, 11-3, 11-9).
Earlier in the day, spectators watched the Veteran Singles (Above 40), the Veteran Singles (Above 50) and the Veteran Singles (Above 60) kick off Anthony Gomes took home the Veterans (Above 60) title by defeating Vishnu Kolvalcar scoring 13-11, 9-11, 11-7, 11-7. While Deepak Gopani beat Aaron Naik (8-11, 11-6, 11-7, 11-3) for the Veterans (Above 50) title and Noel Noronha triumphed over Amit Naik (11-9, 11-5, 11-6) and won in the Veterans (Above 40) category.
Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias TT Championship will be an annual fixture on the state’s sports calendar. The event is slated to be held in June each year. The sports event is supported by Alcon –Anil Counto Enterprises. The tournament received 313 entries across 13 categories including, Under 10 Mini Cadets (Girls and Boys), the Under 12 Cadet (Girls and Boys), the Under 16 Sub Junior (Girls and Boys), the Under 18 Junior (Girls and Boys), the Men’s Singles, the Ladies Singles, the Veteran Singles (Above 40), the Veteran Singles (Above 50) and the Veteran Singles (Above 60).
Over the past 80 years under the leadership of various individuals, the club has innovated and improved keeping in the mind the requirement of its members. The club offers facilities for playing badminton, squash, tennis, billiards and tennis within its premises.