131 views 5 mins 0 comments

Kerala Governor to Inaugurate Digital Varsity on Feb. 20

In Education, Kerala
February 19, 2021

Governor of Kerala Arif Mohammed Khan will inaugurate Kerala University of Digital Sciences, Innovation and Technology (KUDSIT) at Technocity, Mangalapuram, here on February 20, marking a major step forward in the state’s progress towards a knowledge economy and a global centre of higher learning in digital technologies.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will preside over the function, scheduled at 10 am. The Governor, who is also the Chancellor of the Digital University, will unveil the University Plaque on the occasion.

The Governor and the Chief Minister will be addressing the function through videoconferencing.

Minister for Co-operation, Tourism and Devaswoms Kadakampally Surendran; Minister for Higher Education Dr K.T. Jaleel; Deputy Speaker, Legislative Assembly, V. Sasi and AdoorPrakash MP will be the Guests of Honour at the function.

Madhavan Nambiar (Retd), Chairman, Board of Directors, IIITMK, will present the vision of the university while Dr Saji Gopinath, Vice Chancellor, KUDSIT, will deliver the welcome address.

The Digital University is formed with a vision of creating a futuristic institution of higher learning, aspiring to set a global benchmark in Digital technologies and its management. As a University, which focuses on Post Graduate programmes and research in various facets of digital domain, the courses and activities of the University are expected to further advance the theory and practice to shape the Knowledge economy.

Aiming to create a vibrant academic and research ecosystem to nurture talent, the University is planning to build a strong industry-academic and academic-academic linkages with other leading institutions/agencies in India and abroad.

Digital University is set up by upgrading two-decade old Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management Kerala (IIITM-K), a center of excellence in information technologies established by Govt. of Kerala, by enhancing its scope to provide a holistic learning environment on various facets of Knowledge economy.

Development and application of digital technology for social good is the underlying theme which drives the activities of the university, which is starting with five schools of knowledge namely School of Computer Science and Engineering; School of Digital Sciences; School of Electronic Systems and Automation; School of Informatics; and School of Digital Humanities and Liberal Arts, covering science, technology and humanities aspects of the Digital world.

Each school will be offering master level programmes in computer science, informatics, applied electronics and humanities with various specialization of the industry 4.0 world. The adoption of technology in design, pedagogy, assessment etc. is also a key driving factor for the new University, which focuses on early learners and re-learners with a host of programmes in cutting edge areas of technology. Towards this, specialized centres in areas like Blockchain, AI&ML, Cyber Security, Bigdata analytics, Biocomputing and Geospatial analytics are being planned to be established in collaboration with leading international academic, research and industry bodies.

The Digital University is expected to play a key role in leading Kerala as a knowledge economy by creating talent in cutting edge areas of digital technologies. In addition to its regular Master and Doctoral level education programmes, the university has a key focus on reskilling existing human resources in the state through several short-term skilling programmes as well as long-term diploma programmes.

The University will also lead the Digital Transformation Initiative announced by the Government of Kerala in the Budget 2021.

Sprawled across the 10-acre campus in Technocity, the first phase of the university has been completed with an academic and a hostel block. Once fully developed, it will provide education to 1,200 residential scholars from its campus in addition to numerous learners, who will be associated with the University through various technological means.

Others to attend the inaugural ceremony include D Suresh Kumar, President, District Panchayat; Hariprasad, President, Block Panchayat; Suma V, President, Grama Panchayat; M. Jaleel, Member, District Panchayat; Shaheen. M. A, Member, Block Panchayat; and Khuraisha Beevi, Member, Grama Panchayat.

Dr Elizabeth Sherly, Director, IIITM-K will propose a vote of thanks.