229 views 2 mins 0 comments

Metro MSME Awards 2020 Presented

In Business
January 13, 2021

Metro MSME Seminar and Awards 2020 presentation organized by Metro Mart were held at Thiruvananthapuram on January 12th. The Awards were presented to the MSMEs which excelled in various spheres by M.M.Mani, Minister for Electricity, Kadannappally Ramachandran, Minister for Ports, Museums, Archaeology and Archives and Advocate K.Raju, Minister for Forests, Animal Husbandry and Zoos. Many dignitaries including V.K.Prashanth, M.L.A., M.Vijayakumar, Chairman, KTDC,
S.N.Raghuchandran Nair, President, Trivandrum Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Mrigendra Lal Das, CGM, State Bank of India participated in the event held at TCCI Conference Hall.

The Awards presentation was preceded by a Seminar on ‘Challenges and Opportunities for MSME in the post COVID World’. The seminar was organized by Metromart in association with the Thiruvananthapuram Chamber of Commerce and Industries, Kerala Bureau for Industry Promotion and the National Small Industries Corporation. Since 2018, Metro Mart has been organising the MSME Awards and Celebrations, imbibing the high impetus being given by the central and State governments in promoting the MSME sector. Metro MSME Awards and Celebrations started its journey on the International MSME Day (June 27th 2018), as an event to mark the importance of MSME’s key role in the economy.

Inaugurating the event, Power Minister MM Mani said that it was the policy of the state government to promote small enterprises and for that special concessions would be given to small entrepreneurs in the power sector. He said that in the wake of Covid-19, the power department, which had given concessions worth Rs 500 crore to the public in the first phase, has given a concession of Rs 5 crore to overcome the crisis in the film sector. The existence of small enterprises in the state is essential for the life of the common man, the Minister said.

Ministers Kadannappally Ramachandran and Advocate K.Raju, V.K.Prasthanth, MLA, S.N.Raghuchandran Nair, President, TCCI, Mrigendra Lal Das, CGM, SBI and Siji Nair, Managing Director, Metro Group of Publications also spoke on the occasion.